The Briland Modem
Online News & Information for North Eleuthera and Harbour Island, Bahamas
(It's much better in the Out Islands.)

Briland News Link (click)









Exceptional Educational Outreach (Bahamas)

got questions?


"Briland sweet, eh?"

Coconut Notes
Review the earliest days of the Board [1999-2002]

Click the Ocean Button to sign in and post to the board.

A one-time registration is required, and your new ID will be automatically recognized the next time that you login.

Click Here to Post a New Topic
To Respond to a Posted Message,
Click the Message

Cacique Awards Nominations: Congrats, Reggie and Dr. Seabreeze! (Nassau Guardian)
Click here to return to the subject menu.

Search messages for:

in message text

in author name

Search subjects for:

in subject title

Search subject archives:

Page 1 of 1Total of 1 messages
Posted by:Jan 10th 2007, 12:12:00 pm
Fig Tree News TeamCacique Awards nominations
By VIRAJ PERPALL, Guardian Staff Reporter

The spotlight will be placed on veterans of the tourism industry and those who have made a great contribution to The Bahamas in the service industry on January 26th in the 11th annual Cacique awards.

However the nominations for finalists of the awards have already come in and they list a wide variety of Bahamians who have made contributions in several ways to the community.

The finalists for the 11th Annual Cacique Awards are:

Transportation: Sam Brown - Bikini, Reggie Major Harbour Island and Kermit Rolle Exuma.

Human Resources: Thomas Sutton - Exuma, Bridgette Major-Donaldson Grand Bahama and Beverley Ann Saunders - Nassau.

Sports, Leisure & Events: Elton McKinney - Crooked Island, Theophilus Rolle South Andros and Captain Hezron Moxey - Nassau.

Creative Arts: Celestine Albury Nassau, Cebric "Dr Seabreeze" Bethel - Eleuthera and Mr. Pete Johnston Abaco.

Handicraft: Elsie Knowles Long Island, Andy Albury Abaco and The Lloyd Sisters Exuma.

Sustainable Tourism: Ebenezer "Ebbie" David (Ebbie's Bonefish Club) - Bimini, Johnny Roberts (Nippers Bar & Grill) Abaco and Starfish - Exuma.

The Minister's Award: Henry Sands Eleuthera.

Ian Lawrence Smith Nassau and Dorethea Louise Archer-Strachan - Nassau

Mr Earle Bethell, president of the Bahamas Hotel Association, named the finalists in the hotel categories of the awards:

Employee of The Year: Susan Symonette Abaco, Brendalee Silver Grand Bahama and Michelle Greene Nassau.

Supervisor of The Year: Carolyn Tait Nassau, Judymae Strachan Nassau and Raymond Knowles Nassau.

Chef of The Year: Neil Rolle Grand Bahama and Wayne Moncur Nassau.

Sales Executive of The Year: Jermaine Wright Nassau, Margo Dames-Cox Nassau and Toni Rolle Nassau.

Manager of The Year: Kevin Johnson Nassau, Sidney Bullard Nassau and Oral Jones - Nassau.

Ministry of Tourism officials have stated that the winners of these awards and the winner of the Hotelier of the Year will be announced at the Cacique Awards ceremony on January 26.

A veteran tourism worker with more that 30 years of service in the field is also scheduled to be honoured at the ceremony.

Mr Wilkinson, manager and consultant at Luciano's of Chicago, was named as the recipient of one of the coveted Cacique Awards the Clement Maynard Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr Davidson Hepburn, Chairman of the Blue Ribbon Panel that decides on winners of the awards, described Mr Wilkinson as "an accomplished yet humble man." He pointed out that Mr Wilkinson started out in the service industry in 1958, parking cars at The Bahamian Club, West Bay Street. "The industry has been very fortunate to have him at the forefront for 45 years," Dr Hepburn said.

In addition, Dr Hepburn pointed out a marked increase in nominations from Grand Bahama. He said this was noted after there had been a sharp drop off in nominations from that island since it was affected by hurricanes Jeanne, Frances and Wilma in recent years.

Contact us online at